Live shows & Album details Announced

Go down

Live shows & Album details Announced Empty Live shows & Album details Announced

Post by Admin on Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:59 am

On September 13th Phil will release an entire album of Motown and soul covers titled, "Going Back," and will preview songs from it at four shows billed as, UP CLOSE & PERSONAL: PHIL COLLINS PLAYS 60'S MOTOWN & SOUL at New York's Roseland Ballroom, June 22-25. The shows will be exclusively devoted to the music from the new album and other classic R&B/pop gems. The concerts will be presented as an "old school" style, standing-room-only dance concert.

Supporting Collins will be an extraordinary 18-piece ensemble of musicians and vocalists. Anchoring the group will be three of Motown's legendary session players, aka The Funk Brothers -- bassist Bob Babbitt and guitarists Eddie Willis and Ray Monette -- who are also featured on the "GOING BACK" album. The live band will also include long-time Collins cohorts Chester Thompson (drums), Daryl Stuermer (guitar), and Brad Cole (keyboards), plus Leslie Smith (percussion). Rounding out the ensemble will be a five-member horn section and six backing vocalists.

Presented by Live Nation, tickets for all four Roseland shows will be available to Citibank cardholders through a special pre-sale at beginning at 10a.m. ET on Monday, April 19th, and will go on sale to the general public at 10a.m. ET on Saturday, April 24th, To Buy Tickets visit the link below

Phil said in the press release that the idea behind the album "was not to bring anything ‘new’ to these already great records, but to try to recreate the sounds and feelings that I had when I first heard them. My intention was to make an ‘old’ record, not a ‘new’ record." To be able to have three of the surviving Funk Brothers play on all the tracks was unbelievable. There was one moment when they were tracking 'Heat Wave' that I experienced a wave of happiness and wonder that this was actually happening to me! I learned more about production skills and the wonderful songwriting of those concerned whilst making this album, than I have from anything else. To those pioneers... much love and gratitude."

"It shouldn't really be a surprise to anyone that I've finally made an album of my favourite Motown songs," explains Collins. "These songs -- along with a couple of Dusty Springfield tracks, a Phil Spector/Ronettes tune, and one by the Impressions -- make up the tapestry, the backdrop, of my teenage years. I remember it as if it was yesterday, going to the Marquee Club in London's Soho and watching The Who, The Action, and many others, playing these songs. In turn I'd go out the next day to buy the original versions.

Live shows & Album details Announced Philco10

Track list of "Going Back

1. Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
2. Uptight (Everything’s Alright)
3. Blame It On The Sun
4. Never Dreamed You’d Leave In Summer
5. Heat Wave
6. In My Lonely Room
7. Jimmy Mack
8. Standing In The Shadows Of Love
9. Something About You
10. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
11. Papa Was a Rolling Stone
12. Some Of Your Loving
13. Talking About My Baby
14. Do I Love You?
15. Going To a Go-Go
16. Love Is Here
17. Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)
18. Going Back


Posts : 134
Join date : 2008-08-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum